icon-account icon-glass

December 2020

Sort by:
The Black Kids

YOUNG ADULT

The Black Kids

by Christina Hammonds Reed

African-American

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this coming-of-age novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Read more
The Henna Artist

HISTORICAL FICTION

The Henna Artist

by Alka Joshi

South Asian

Through her work painting henna onto women's bodies in the boudoirs of the upper class as well as in the hovels of the poor, Lakshmi brings us face to face with the complexity of life in post-independence India.

Read more
A House Is A Body

SHORT STORIES

A House Is A Body

by Shruti Swamy

South Asian

Twelve short stories that share a common floor of unavoidable change and the ultimate acceptance of it all as the collection opens doors to many places, perspectives, and possibilities.

Read more
Stop Telling Women To Smile

FEMINIST THEORY

Stop Telling Women To Smile

by Tatyana Fazlalizadeh

African-American

Boys will be boys, women have been told for generations, ignore it, shrug it off, take it as a compliment. But the harassment has real consequences for women: in the fear it instills and the shame they are made to feel.

Read more
The Truths We Hold

MEMOIR

The Truths We Hold

by Kamala Harris

African-American South Asian

From America's Vice President-Elect, a book about the core truths that unite us, and the long struggle to discern what those truths are and how best to act upon them, in her own life and across the life of our country.

Read more